Dear Participants of the Conference,

We are pleased to invite you to participate already in the 10th International Scientific Conference ‘Rural Development 2021: Challenges for Sustainable Bioeconomy and Climate Change’. It already became as biannual tradition to meet colleagues all over the world here. In addition, we are pleased that this event became a common area for international scientific interdisciplinary discussion on rural development and innovations.

 It is a pleasure for us to welcome you at Vytautas Magnus University Academy of Agriculture, which is developing due to the challenges of smart growth and bioeconomy. The University is becoming more and more advanced in science and more open to society for cooperation and sharing knowledge.

 The Mission of University reveals our main aspiration: to develop and disseminate scientific knowledge and sincerely strive for save and healthy food and full-fledged living environment for all citizens of Lithuania.

 We are able do more „step by step“ with global changes and innovations by sharing innovative ideas, experience and results of our researches.

 The existing and rising challenges of bioeconomy will be discussed in different Conference sections:

  • Agro-innovations and Food Technologies;
  • Biosystems Engineering and Environment Integrity (Dedicated to the 75th Anniversary of Engineering Sciences in University);
  • Multifunctional Approach for Sustainable Use of Bio-Resources;
  • Social Research for Sustainable Bioeconomy and Climate Change.

Together we can create synergy from broad participation from different sectors of the society, the scientists, practitioners, policy makers, private sector actors, NGOs, even young researchers and students. All the participants will be awarded the possibility to express their attitude towards the scientific issues related to rural development, especially in the focus of bioeconomy challenges.

Prof. dr. Astrida Miceikienė
Chancellor of the Vytautas Magnus University Agriculture Academy,
Chairperson of Scientific Committee